Saturday, October 12, 2013

Stupid Shit people say to single moms.

Well there is just so many stupid things said to me on a daily basis where do I start?

How about with my favorite. Is that your daughter she looks nothing like you.

are you her babysitter/nanny/big sister/ Which I am willing to take as a compliment that I look

younger than I am.....but the stupidest by far has got to be a teacher at the after school program

That I was picking laylaboo up from that actually asked me why I had not signed myself out

When I looked confused at her and was about to say I was there to pick up my child she said all

club members must sign themselves out so we can keep track of everyone.

I almost died the  oldest you could be to go there was 12 was this lady serious she thought I was 12!!!!

I was horrified and so was she after I explained to her I was there to pick up my daughter.

How about the lady at the grocery store who after commenting how beautiful laylaboo was

Asked me how she got her beautiful tan skin. She wanted to know if I tanned her ..because

Yes I tan my 8yr old for no reason. I smiled and  said "that skin would be from her dad who is Mexican.

I thought I was going to have to lift her jaw off the floor. She scuffed at me and muttered some

Racial comment and left. Some people amaze me with there stupidity.

And how many times has anyone else got this comment or am I the only one...I was at a PTA

meeting and a mom came up to me and started chatting me up and wanted to find out about me

When I mentioned I was a single mom she looked at me with concerned eyes and said"

Don't worry honey not all kids raised by single moms turn out bad there are a few that make it in life.
.

Um WTF??? I did not realize that because I was a single mom my kid had no chance

Well there's money I've saved up for her future down the drain....lol.

My favorite single mom comment has to be from a friend of mine who is married and

Her life is pretty comfy. One day we were hanging out and she said "I don't know how you do it

Jenn you must be so lonely and don't you worry your going to be old and die alone,

And you don't have sex OMG you're vagina must be like a dusty old cave, I feel so

Terrible for you but you are stronger than me because I would just die I mean there would be

No point in living". Was this women serious? I have to be honest I was glad she left because I

Had the perfect spot to bury her and her dumb ass ......calm down I have not become so

Lonely and deranged that I would do that.....At least yet.

Another place I run into dumb comments is the gyno of all place, You know when they ask you

the personal questions like have you been sexually active? Me" no I am single". My gyno looks

At me and Say's but people can still be sexually active this is why we ask everyone this question.

 My response yes I know but I am a tired mom with a very overly protective 8yr old there is
 
no way I am getting any booty anytime soon.

My gyno laughs at this comment I am not kidding but whatever can we get on with these

Invasive questions. When is the last time you had sex? Um with someone? with a toy?

In a dream? In my mind ? I mean can you be more specific? This obviously makes my gyno

Annoyed and she moves on to the next question which falls in the stupid category "do you

Need any condoms? birth control? I seriously consider smacking my gyno, but instead I answer

No why would I need those if I just said I am not having sex.

She smiles and Say's always better to be prepared just because your a single mom doesn't

Mean you can't explore your sexuality and be safe.

OK I seriously felt like my gyno was trying to pimp me out. I could not get out of there fast enough.


Have you had the pleasure of meeting the stay at home mommies who think they are way

superior to you? Man they are a frightening bunch. like a pack of wolves just waiting to

rip you apart always in a group pushing a stroller with one hand and balancing a Starbucks

Coffee in the other far to concerned  with how they look and how awful you look and how

selfish you are to work how dare you. And what a opinionated bunch they are too.

Just the other day laylaboo was playing at the park with a girl about her age the mother came

over to me to introduce herself. I kid you not this is how it went down she said her name was

Allie and she was a professional stay at home mom. had been since her little abbey was born.

She looked very serious at me and said I am really good at being a stay at home mom my hubby

Say's it is a wonder I get anything done because I always look so beautiful .

Now you can imagine at this point the look on my face. But I am a mature adult I will not

Let my inner bitch come out and play not quite yet...I smile at her and say" OK Will my name is

JENN and I work at a school and I just naturally looks this way.

She looks me up and down and I can see she is trying to think if I am serious or not.

She laughs nervously and Say's so what does your husband do ?

I smirk because I already know how this scenario is going to play out.

I answer her " I am a single mom I bring in what little income I can.

She frowns at me and Say's O I am sorry to hear that. It must be super hard to be a single mom.

I laugh well I didn't say anyone died I just said I am a single mom and yes it sucks but life

Goes on and you have to tough it out. I have a daughter I have to raise.

She sits down next to me and Say's to me wow you must be like supermom because if I

Had to raise my kids by myself I would crack and besides you don't get any alone time

And you have to worry that you will screw up your kid. Plus then your kids don't have

Nice things or clothes as she eyes my daughter while she Say's this.

I Hear my inner bitch shouting inside of me please let me out ,just let me at her.

I stand up ready to leave she follows. She turns to me and Say's I hope i have not said

anything to make you upset.

I look her up down with her perfectly highlighted hair, designer clothes and nails freshly

Manicured and I wonder how it would be to live life so comfy and yet be so naive and have to

depend on someone else and I really just feel sorry for her.

I smile and say  well allie it was nice to meet you but I have to take my thrift store dressed child

And my poor sad single mom self to real world and be done with all this fake shit.

I waited for a response but she just stood there looking dumb.

I am a super nice person by the way my friends while vouch for me I am just really tired of

People feeling like they can say and make comments without knowing my life and who I am.

In general most people I meet are awesome and I have awesome single mommy friends who are

Raising there kids just fine. I also have married friends and yes even stay at home mom friends 

Who are also awesome. I just think people need to think before they speak and lay off us single

Moms it is a full time job. And a hard one at that. We as single moms need to help one another 

Instead of judging each other and that goes for all moms it is a hard job but we do it because we love our kids.


So tell me what is the stupidest thing that has been said to you as a single mom?